Off The Playlist – Glorious Ruins


Glorious Ruins is one of my favourite songs from the Hillsong 2013 album of the same name. The first time I heard this song, it shook me to my core.
There is nothing/no one too ruined that God cannot transform. I know we hear things like this all the time but let it really sink in. What area of your life do you think is beyond repair? How damaged do you feel? Think about it. I’m not talking about the mess that you feel you can wipe away with a little prayer and a few drops of the blood. I mean the secrets that you’ve buried in the deepest, darkest recesses of your heart. That part you don’t remember until you’re lying alone in the dark. That story that no one else knows. The hurt that you feel even God cannot understand. Yeah, that one. From that lowest of the low where you’ve sunk to, allow God reach you right there. He sees, He knows. He wants to bring beauty out of those very same ashes. He wants to make the ruins glorious. He wants to show forth His glory through those scars. He wants you to experience His love right there in the filth, so you too can sing, “I will love You forever…”

When the mountains fall
And the tempest roars You are with me
When creation folds
Still my soul will soar on Your mercy

I’ll walk through the fire
With my head lifted high
And my spirit revived in Your story
And I’ll look to the cross
As my failure is lost
In the light of Your glorious grace

Let the ruins come to life
In the beauty of Your Name
Rising up from the ashes
God forever You reign

And my soul will find refuge
In the shadow of Your wings
I will love You forever
And forever I’ll sing

When the world caves in
Still my hope will cling to Your promise
Where my courage ends
Let my heart find strength in Your presence

I’ll walk through the fire
With my head lifted high
And my spirit revived in Your story
And I’ll look to the cross
As my failure is lost
In the light of Your glorious grace

Let the ruins come to life
In the beauty of Your Name
Rising up from the ashes
God forever You reign

And my soul will find refuge
In the shadow of Your wings
I will love You forever
And forever I’ll sing

I really didn’t plan to post anything today but this song came up on my playlist as I was praying this morning, and I had the same experience like I did the first time I heard it. It can never get too dark for God’s light to shine through. He’s right here, even in the ruins. And He makes all things beautiful… Rising from the ashes… Glorious!

9 thoughts on “Off The Playlist – Glorious Ruins

  1. 4evaphoenix says:

    *coughs* About that album…never got that email you know. 😦

  2. 4evaphoenix says:

    Btw, this is why I’ve always identified with the Phoenix… I feel like “ruins coming to life” & “rising up from the ashes” are the recurring themes of my life.
    I always ALWAYS bounce back.
    & for that I am eternally grateful to Abba. πŸ™‚

  3. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I
    think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and
    both show the same outcome.

Leave a Reply

