The Things We Shouldn’t Have Been


We go in many directions, you and I
Lines blur and hearts disconnected getting harder to detect
We break into many pieces, you and I
Collage of stitched tatters no longer makes for fine art
I weep into empty barrels
Collection of many weeks worth of promises unfulfilled

We force too many stories, you and I
Complicated plots and unpolished theatre-tricks becoming our refuge
Camera
Lights
Inaction
Did you forget your lines, honey?
Did you miss your one shot to be prince?
And knight?
And light! Bright light!
But there you are, an assortment of black
And dark
Too many colours all mashed up
We are too many colours, my love, you and I
Yet to learn to mix them right
We are all the wrong sizes, you and I
We are all the wrong colours, honeyfall
We are everything we swore we would never be
You are your father
I am my mother;
loving your father in all the wrong ways

8 thoughts on “The Things We Shouldn’t Have Been

  1. TheRustGeek says:

    Oh for days when it was less complicated….

  2. tiwaladeo says:

    I love this!! The last few lines are so powerful. ❤❤

  3. aramaanda says:

    This made me sad for some reason but still beautiful to read…

  4. Estti E. says:

    The last two lines are solid! Love!

  5. […] is a poem written by our very own […]

Leave a Reply

